Tips
Links
Members
Message Board
Other Fiero Clubs
VIN Decoder
Speed Calculator
GFC Facebook Page

Author Topic: Need guidance on Kindle purchase  (Read 15414 times)

Fierofool

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Georgia Fiero Club
Need guidance on Kindle purchase
« on: November 04, 2015, 10:03:30 am »
Posting on the forum because Melanie doesn't read it.  It's the only place I can keep a secret from her. 

A number of times she's said that she'd like to have a Kindle.  So, I thought it would be a good Christmas gift for her.  I have little knowledge of hand-held devices, including my cell phone, but I've asked a couple of people about Kindles.

Based on bits and pieces I've been told, I am looking for the following features.  It seems most are Mac based, but I'd like a Windows based Kindle.  Full featured as I'm not opposed to paying a good price for it.  I'm told some can be attached to a printer.  If so, that's what I'd like.  It should have WiFi capabilities and a large screen.  If they have cameras, that would be a plus. 
There are three kinds of men:

1.    The ones that learn by reading.
2.    The few who learn by observation.
3.    The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence and find out for themselves.    Will Rogers

TopNotch

• The Duke of URL
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Need guidance on Kindle purchase
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2015, 10:45:41 am »
It depends on what she wants to do with it as to what kind of Kindle to get. If she only wants to read books, the basic Kindle will do. If she also wants to play games or watch videos, get a Kindle Fire.
Kindles are neither Mac nor Windows. They are a kind of Android, although somewhat limited (in my opinion) compared to generic Android. Linda has a Kindle Fire, and I have a Google Nexus 7 Android tablet.