Tips
Links
Members
Message Board
Other Fiero Clubs
VIN Decoder
Speed Calculator
GFC Facebook Page

Author Topic: Space navigation  (Read 14088 times)

GTRS Fiero

• It is what it is.
    • View Profile
Space navigation
« on: November 24, 2017, 05:00:35 pm »
In Star Trek, the Enterprise yaws when turning.  I'm no expert, and of course this is all fiction, but it would seem that there would be no need for a spacecraft to yaw in space.  Further, since it provides its own gravity and there is seldom a reference point, I'm not sure how you'd know, due to the vast distances.

TopNotch

• The Duke of URL
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Space navigation
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2017, 05:56:19 pm »
And in the opening scenes of Star Trek (the original), the Enterprise would make a swishing sound as it sped away from the viewer. It's all done because that's what ordinary folks expect.
Since Enterprise is a space "ship", they expect it to behave like a motorboat in the water, which leans toward a curve. That's actually because the propeller, which is below the bottom of the hull, is pushing it that way. A large ship, like the aircraft carrier I was on when in the Navy, actually leans away from a hard curve, like a car. It's propellers (the Navy calls them "screws") are not below the bottom of the hull, and so it doesn't behave like a motorboat in a hard curve.
The more complex the mind, the greater the need for the simplicity of play.

GTRS Fiero

• It is what it is.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2017, 06:04:38 pm »
Of course, when you were in the Navy, the entire senior staff didn't go into hostile situations.

GTRS Fiero

• It is what it is.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2017, 07:51:51 am »
I thought it was mass that caused the leaning on ships and cars.  You know, centrifugal force.